Talking pawlitics

We are going through a presidential election at the moment here in
Finland and the media (including, unfortunately, social media) is
absolutely saturated with political (and truth be told,
not-at-all-political) views of the remaining two candidates and every
minor aspect of their lives. Even though I am also definitely voting
and do hold certain political views, in the midst of all this turmoil
and media hype I can’t help but envy dogs for being totally oblivious
to what is going on around them.

And better yet, they just don’t care. Just like they love their owners
for who they are, they really wouldn’t have the attention span to
start debating politics (unless it has something to do with food, and
even there quantity often wins over quality – simple as that). They
live in a beautiful, simplified world stripped of politics, beliefs or
moral grounds. They act based on instinct and past experience and they
really seem to have a good time at it. I don’t see any political
fanatics out there wagging their tails as much.

As I feel like I am bound to boil over with this media jibber-jabber
in the upcoming two weeks, I have made the conscious decision to try
to avoid watching the news and ignore all political views on the
social media. I will take after Nala, and try to be totally oblivious
to the outside political world. I will focus on good food, good
nights’ sleep and occasional exercise and eagerly wait for these two
weeks to pass – wagging my imaginary tail.

More play, less politics.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Talking pawlitics

  1. Kim says:

    Great post. Like the saying goes “ignorance is bliss”. Good luck !!!

  2. nalasdogdays says:

    Thank you Kim! Eyes closed and earplugs on – I’m ready for my husband to watch the news :).

  3. raisingdaisy says:

    I agree with you. We’re going through the primaries right now and the deluge of negative ads is absolutely obnoxious – they get worse with every election. It’s almost like their mantra is “How low can you go?”. Makes me lose respect for every single one of them. I hope you have better choices than we do here in the US!

  4. I’m with Nala!! 🙂

    Love this pic – it’s hard to see where Nala ends and the carpet starts…… 🙂

    Have fun,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  5. Bongo says:

    I’m with Nala. I vote for food.

  6. nalasdogdays says:

    Thanks for the comments everyone – glad to see Nala has support in her love for all things non-political 🙂

  7. Tootsie says:

    Dear Nala,
    I beg to differ 🙂
    I do follow current events, and I do have pawlitical opinions of my own. It upsets me to no end that canines don’t get to vote, as we’d do a better job than most humans out there (this may vary from country to country). In Switzerland, my parents pay a doggy tax for me, but even though I’m a naturalized Swiss citizen, I don’t get to vote. To me, this is taxation without representation…
    Keep on wagging!

    • nalasdogdays says:

      Tootsie, you are so right! Over here we pay dog tax only in certain cities, and I happened to move from a taxed city to a tax-free city, so I guess this is why Nala has decided to ignore pawlitics totally 🙂

Leave a comment